NLB Announces the 5th Annual Tesla Award Winners

Highest number of entries since the inception of the Tesla Awards

DALLAS, TX – 14th, 2024 – The National Lighting Bureau is pleased to announce the winners in the 5th Annual Tesla Awards. The projects being recognized support the organization’s mission of advancing lighting excellence and innovation in lighting design, advancing best lighting practices to create an inviting, healthier and more sustainable future. The awards ceremony will be taking place on March 19th at 2 pm Eastern time during LEDucation in New York City, booth PF1. The ceremony will be hosted by NLB chairperson Mary Beth Gotti and NLB Executive Director Tom Butters. Judges for this year’s program are: Dawn DeGrazio, LC; Rebecca Hadley-Catter, LC, LEED AP; Terry McGowan, LC, FIES, Director-at-Large NLB; Randy Reid, past Exec. Director, NLB; and James Yorgey, PE, LC, Director-at-Large NLB.

These winning projects exemplify the organization’s mission of advancing lighting excellence and illustrating best practices, focusing on the end user’s well-being and sustainability. Projects promote health and wellness, productivity, safety and security, visual comfort, control of light pollution, retail/commercial performance, and entertainment.

Tesla Awards of Excellence Winners

LS Group – Casa Marea, Los Cabos, Mexico

Designers: Elise Streeb, Sarah Erickson

Lighting Design Alliance – Jio World Centre, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

Designers: Christopher Bright, Chip Israel, Kenneth Moore, Meghan Murphy-McLeod, Varma V.S.K. Namburi, Jason Stroebel

Jio World Center-Harshan Thomson


Lighting Design Alliance – Palmilla Cocina y Tequila, Newport Beach, CA

Designer: Kyllene Jones



Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design – Yale University Sterling Memorial Library, Nave & Exhibition Gallery, New Haven, CT

Designers: Francesca Bettridge, Nicole Yoon Kim, Nira Wattanachote, Min Young Kim

Apicella & Bunton Architects


Awards of Merit

Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design – Charles R. Jones Federal Building and Courthouse, Charlotte, NC

Designers: Stephen D. Bernstein, Renata Gallo, Francisco Casablanca, Nick Stuchlak

Architects: Robert A. M. Stern, Jenkins Peer

Electrolight – The Matheson, Healdsburg, CA

Designers: Claudio Ramos, Lu-Yu Huang, Burak Yilmaz

The Matheson-ClaudioRubio


Electrolight – PHX Suns Arena, Phoenix, AZ

Designers: Claudio Ramos, Lu-Yu Huang, Burak Yilmaz

Licht Kunst Licht AG – Casals Forum, Kronberg im Taunus, Hesse, DE

Designers: Edwin Smida, Nils von Leesen, Konstantin Klaas, Jaehoon Choi, Sophie Stanitzek

Stantec – Confidential Global Technology Company Office TI, Redmond, WA

Designers: Stantec

– Alison Fiedler

– Megan Sudol

Special Citation

ANDRES + PARTNER – Design of Daylight System for a Control Center, West Germany

Special Citation: For innovative daylighting design and commendable consideration of the circadian needs of occupants.

Designers: Bruno Thomas Menczigar, Arne Hűlsmann, Katja Schielbler, Peter Andres

Electrolight – Westbridge Capital, San Mateo, CA

Special Citation: For demonstrating effective color-tuning in a work environment.

Designers: Claudio Ramos, Lu-Yu Huang, Burak Yilmaz

Designers: Kevin Frary, Charles G. Stone II

Fisher Marantz Stone – Safeco Plaza, Seattle, WA

Special Citation: For the impressive lobby retrofit lighting design that renews the image of an iconic office property.

Designers: Kevin Frary, Charles G. Stone II

Morlights – Indian Community School, Franklin, WI

Special Citation: For illustrating the effective use of wireless DALI controls in educational institutions.

Designers: Sean Murphy, Avraham Mor, Casey Diers, Kelsey Knowak

Paragon – Hotel West and Main, Conshohocken, PA

Special Citation: For the effective use of lighting to meld historic and contemporary buildings into a cohesive hospitality experience.

Designer: Scott Kerns

Schuler Shook – Optiver, Chicago, IL

Special Citation: For expertly illustrating the successful rebirth of the luminous ceiling in a commercial office application.

Designers: Travis Shupe, Emily Klingensmith, John Jacobsen

With great appreciation, the National Lighting Bureau acknowledges all participants of the 5th Annual Tesla Awards, marking a milestone with the highest number of submissions to date. Congratulations to all Tesla Award winners for their commitment to promoting high benefit lighting by creating well-lit environments for communities around the world.

About the NLB 

The National Lighting Bureau is an independent, IRS-recognized not-for-profit, educational foundation that has served as a trusted lighting information source. The Bureau provides its services to the public free of charge, thanks to the generous funding of the organization’s sponsors which include professional societies, trade associations, labor unions, manufacturers, and agencies of the U.S. government.